Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Musical
Winner:   AnnaMae Humbert, North Rose-Wolcott, "Little Women"

Runner Up:   Abi Jo Wanek, North Rose-Wolcott, "Little Women"

Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical
     Winner:   Michael Hamill, Marion, "The Beauty and the Beast"

 Runner Up:   Keith  Allen, Sodus, "Once Upon a Mattress"

Best Actress in a Lead Role in a Musical
     Winner:   Leah Curran, Sodus, "Once Upon a Mattress"

Runner Up:   Scarlett Keppen, Marion, "The Beauty and the Beast"

Best Actor in a Lead Role in a Musical
Winner:   Jaston Brooks, Newark, "Big Fish"

Runner Up:   Sawyer Herbst, Pal-Mac, "Newsies"

Best Orchestra

North Rose-Wolcott, "Little Women"

Best Playbill for a Musical

Pal-Mac, "Newsies"

Best Poster for a Musical

Pal-Mac, "Newsies", poster by Alyssa Burba

Outstanding Dance Ensemble

Pal-Mac, "Newsies"

Outstanding Support Crew

Marion, "The Beauty and the Beast"

Featured Performer, Actress

Isabella Bailey as Alabama Lamb in "Big Fish", Newark

​Faith Rinalla as one of the Silly Girls in " The Beauty and the Beast", Marion

​Featured Performer, Actor

Cody Acquista and Red Fang in "Big Fish", Newark

Best Musical
Winner:   "The Beauty and the Beast", Marion, directed by Shelly West Thompson    

Runner Up:   "Newsies", Pal-Mac, directed by Kimberly Day

Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Drama
Winner:   Deborah Szarek, Newark, "Argonautika"

Runner Up:   Lauren Wren, Sodus, "Clue"

Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Drama

Winner:   Ethan Meeks, Newark, "Argonautika"
Runner Up:   Cody Acquista, Newark, "Argonautika"

Best Actress in a Lead Role in a Drama
Winner:   McKinley Miller, Newark, "Argonautika"
Runner Up:   Alexandra Girard, East Palmyra Christian School, "Do-Overs"

Best Actor inn a Lead Role in a Drama
Winner:   Francisco Garcia, Lyons, "The Birds"
Runner Up:   Josiah Gross, East Palmyra Christian School, "Do-Overs"

Best Poster for a Drama
Winner:   Newark, "Argonautika, poster by Deborah Szarek

Best Playbill for a Drama
Winner:   Red Creek, "A Wicked Christmas Carol"

Best Drama Production
Winner:   Newark, "Argonautika", directed by Emily Howard
Runner Up:   East Palmyra Christian School, "Do-Overs", directed by Kathy Cornwell​


​​Two years before the "Stars of Tomorrow" program was launched by the Rochester Broadway Theatre League, Wayne County led the way with the Elenbe Awards.

Best described as the “High School Tony Awards of Wayne County”, The Elenbe Awards recognizes excellence in drama and musical productions, both individuals and overall productions, in Wayne County high schools.  It was established in 1997 largely in part to efforts by Newark Superintendent (at the time) Bob Christmann and the Wayne County Council for the Arts.

In recent years Sue Bacon has served as the liaison between the schools, judges and the Council.  Any adult in Wayne County is eligible to participate as a judge.  Judges attend high school dramas and musicals throughout the year and rate performances with a Council established ratings sheet.  Not all schools choose to participate every year.  In May, a “red carpet” awards ceremony takes place at Newark High School (and broadcasts live on television).  Each participating school has the opportunity to perform a short selection from their production.  Due to copyright issues this portion of the ceremony cannot be aired on TV.  Pre-taped interviews with the director and student representatives from each school are broadcast before the ceremony. Don Alhart serves as the Emcee for the ceremony (and has since its inception).  A representative from Wayne Arts Council as well as Lyons National Bank are present and participate (short speech) as does Newark Board of Education President.  Awards are presented to a winner and a runner-up in several categories (Best Supporting Actress/Actor in Play/Musical, Best Actress/Actor in Play/Musical etc.) as well as several ensemble awards and an overall production award.  Winners are presented with a trophy and have the opportunity to give a short “thank you” acceptance speech.  The schools that win overall best production also receive a monetary award sponsored by Lyons National Bank.  LNB serves as the corporate sponsor for the program which is run by Wayne County Council for the Arts. It is a very exciting evening.  Students are often dressed up and it feels like a red carpet event.  

Wayne County is really a leader in recognizing achievement in the performing arts at the high school level.​​​